log in
Follow Us

Join our mailing list to receive news, updates, announcements.



jlco
live webcasts
 

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra – Create Your Own

Details

The South African Songbook

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Thu, Sep 12 • Fri, Sep 13 • Sat, Sep 14

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis kicks off Opening Weekend in Rose Theater with a musical celebration of South African democracy, 25 years after apartheid's end. A diverse group of top South African musicians will join the orchestra to perform essential South African music, with each song chosen by a guest performer and newly arranged for the show by the JLCO.

Details

A Swingin’ Sesame Street Celebration: 50 Years and Counting

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 7:00PM, 2:00PM

Fri, Oct 25 • Sat, Oct 26

See some of your favorite feathered and furry friends sing classic Sesame Street songs alongside the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis in this swinging celebration of the show’s 50th anniversary.

Details

The Abyssinian Mass by Wynton Marsalis

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Thu, Nov 21 • Fri, Nov 22 • Sat, Nov 23

Wynton Marsalis’ epic The Abyssinian Mass comes to the House of Swing for an exclusive three-night run. Featuring the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis and 70-piece gospel choir Chorale Le Chateau directed by Damien L. Sneed, The Abyssinian Mass is a sweeping blend of big band bravado, impassioned solos, hand claps, tambourine slaps, and some of the mightiest voices you’ll hear outside of church.

Details

Big Band Holidays

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 7:00PM, 8:00PM, 2:00PM

Wed, Dec 18 • Thu, Dec 19 • Fri, Dec 20 • Sat, Dec 21 • Sun, Dec 22

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis continues a beloved New York tradition that plays to sold-out audiences every December. Featuring guest vocalists Alexis Morrast and Denzal Sinclaire and soulful, big band versions of classics like “Jingle Bells” and “Joy to the World,” Big Band Holidays is an uplifting holiday program sure to get you into the spirit of the season.

Details

Spiritual Sounds and The Jazz Age

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Fri, Jan 10 • Sat, Jan 11

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis revisits two of its most acclaimed originals: Victor GoinesUntamed Elegance, a thoroughly modern trip to the Jazz Age of the 1920s, and Chris Crenshaw’s God’s Trombones, inspired by a poetic take on traditional Black American church sermons. Each suite highlights the ensemble’s boundless creativity, commitment to artistic vision, and the peerless musical range of its individual members.

Details

Transformation with Glenn Close and Ted Nash

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Thu, Jan 30 • Fri, Jan 31 • Sat, Feb 1

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis saxophonist Ted Nash is a visionary composer known for translating heady ideas into vibrant, relatable music. Tonight he presents the world premiere of his latest work, a new JLCO suite featuring award-winning actor and personal friend Glenn Close.

Details

Masters of Form

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Fri, Apr 3 • Sat, Apr 4

Can a great composition be compared to the work of a great architect? The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis invites you to experience some of the most masterfully structured pieces in the jazz canon, including works by Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, and George Russell, plus the world premiere of Andy Farber’s Usonian Structures, a new suite inspired by architect Frank Lloyd Wright.

Details

Sherman Irby's Supernova

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Thu, Apr 23 • Fri, Apr 24 • Sat, Apr 25

JLCO saxophonist Sherman Irby leads a gravity-defying exploration of the universe with the world premiere of his new commission. After kicking off the suite with the Big Bang, the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis will travel through a series of distinctive movements, evoking awe-inspiring galactic phenomena from supernovas, stars, and black holes to the formation of a galaxy and life itself.

Details

Ellington Masterpieces

Rose Theater 2019-2020 season • 8:00PM

Fri, Jun 12 • Sat, Jun 13

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis closes the concert season with an audience favorite: an all-Ellington evening of musical masterpieces. Over the course of six decades, Duke Ellington wrote well over 1,000 compositions, some of the richest and most enduring music of the past century. This music is a premier showcase of a big band’s range, nuance, and cohesion, and nobody plays it quite like the JLCO.