log in
Follow Us

Join our mailing list to receive news, updates, announcements.

live webcasts

press room


Monday, June 3rd, 2013

Live Webcast of Induction Into Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame

For Immediate Release:  June 3, 2013

Live Webcast of Induction Into Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame

Live Webcast of Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, June 4 at 1:00pm ET via jazz.org/live


New York, NY   (June 3, 2013) Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC)will proudly induct Art Blakey, Lionel Hampton, and Clark Terry into the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame (EJHF) on June 4, 2013 at 1:00pm ET at an induction ceremony at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola at JALC’s home, Frederick P. Rose Hall.  The Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and performances will be webcast live on jazz.org/live

Actor Courtney B. Vance will read remarks, written by author Geoff Ward, in honor of each inductee.  Family members and representatives will accept the awards on behalf of the inductees.  The ceremony will celebrate the new inductees through photo montages and performances by today’s finest musicians including Jonathan Batiste, Dominick Farinacci, Roy Hargrove, Jimmy Heath, Ali Jackson, Warren Wolf, and many others.

Art Blakey, Lionel Hampton, and Clark Terry earned the majority popular vote cast by jazz fans around the world in an online public vote earlier this year.  Click here for more information about the 2013 NEJHF inductees.

To embed the live webcast please use the following HTML:

The EJHF honors legendary artists or members of the jazz community based on his or her singular dedication and outstanding contribution to jazz.  To date, Jazz at Lincoln Center has inducted 38 members into the EJHF and will continue to induct new members annually. This year’s inductees were nominated by a committee of select musicians and scholars and voted in by an international public vote open to jazz fans around the world.  This year’s nominating committee includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Stanley Crouch, Jon Faddis, Vince Giordano, Wynton Marsalis, Dianne Reeves, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, and Spike Wilner.  

This initiative is made possible through a generous gift from Ray and Barbara Dalio.

Jazz at Lincoln Center proudly acknowledges its major corporate partners: Bloomberg, Brooks Brothers, The Coca-Cola Company, Con Edison, Entergy, HSBC Bank, The Shops at Columbus Circle at Time Warner Center, Qatar Airways, and SiriusXM.

MasterCard® is the preferred card of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Qatar Airways is a Premier Sponsor and the Official Airline Sponsor of Jazz at Lincoln Center.