log in
Follow Us

Join our mailing list to receive news, updates, announcements.

live webcasts

press room


Friday, May 14th, 2021



Danilo Peréz to receive 
2021 Bruce Lundvall Visionary Award 

May 17—20, 2021

New York, NY (May 14, 2021) – Nearly 100 panelists, several performances, and 21 interactive panels, programs, and masterclasses will be featured at the 2021 Jazz Congress, a virtual conference designed to address the concerns and needs facing the global jazz community during this challenging, unprecedented time.

The fourth annual Jazz Congress will take place online on May 17–20, 2021. In response to the multiple challenges the pandemic has inflicted on people around the globe (not the least of which are economic) Jazz Congress registration is free of charge for all conference registrants ages 14 and up.

As part of the Jazz Congress events, Jazz at Lincoln Center and JazzTimes will give the 2021 Bruce Lundvall Visionary Award to pianist, composer, educator, and social activist Danilo Peréz who has done remarkable work in expanding the audience and the language of the music, through the Global Music Institute at Berklee and with his community development efforts in his native Panama.  The award will be presented by Peréz’s colleague and 2019 Bruce Lundvall Visionary Award recipient Terri Lyne Carrington.

Jazz Congress programs include the celebratory panels “Celebrating Jimmy Heath,” and “Jon Hendricks at 100;” workshops “Livestreaming Your Virtual Performance,” “Know Your Rights: The New Frontier for Music Licensing,” “Returning to the Stage: Navigating Reopening for Presenters,” “The Roots & Branches of Afro-Cuban Jazz,” “Achieving Real Diversity in Presenting Jazz,” “Mentoring Women in Jazz;” masterclasses like “New Orleans Drumming with Herlin Riley,” “Making Arrangements,” and more.

In addition to providing free access to performances from jazz presenters around the world including SFJazz, Kuumbwa Jazz, and Igor Butman Club, Jazz Congress will feature Live From Dizzy’s sets featuring New Jazz Underground: Abdias Armenteros on May 17 at 1:30p.m. ET, and Willie Jones III on May 20 at 7:30p.m. ET.

A complete schedule and registration information can be found on jazzcongress.org

2021 Jazz Congress Participants:

Abdias Armenteros

Adam Neely

Adonis Rose

Akua Noni Parker

Alexa Tarantino

Alexandre Pierrepont 

Allison Job

Amaury Acosta

Amy K. Bormet

Angelo Miranda

Antonio Hart

Ashley Kahn

Ben Lapidus

Billy Childs

Bobby McFerrin

Brad Stone

Branford Marsalis

Bryan Carter

Carol Handley

Cedric Easton

Chris Heim

Christian Sands

Christopher Crenshaw

Cosimo Fabrizio

Cécile McLorin Salvant

D'Andre Brothers

Dan Wilson

Dana Wigle

Dee Dee Bridgewater

Derek Kwan

Dr. Robin D.G. Kelley

Emmet Cohen

Endea Owens

Erica Carter 

Erika Elliott

Evan Sherman

Felix Contreras

Georgina Javor

Gilles Peterson

Gwen Ansell

Helen Sung

Herlin Riley

Jacques Schwarz-Bart

Jazzmeia Horn

Jen Luzzo

Jihye Lee

John Clayton

John Murph

Karen Kennedy

Katie Simon

Kerry Sulkowicz

Kris Bowers

Kurt Elling

Madelyn Gardner

Maria Schneider

Marija Abney 

Mark Ruffin

Mary Foster Conklin

Rodney Whitaker

Sam Pollard

Sean Jones

Sheila Jordan

Steve Williams

Susan Brink 

Sébastien Vidal

Terri Lyne Carrington

Terri Pontremoli

Tia Fuller

Tootie Heath

Tulani Bridgewater Kowalski

Valérie Malot 

Wayne Tucker

Willie Jones III

Yunie Mojica

Jazz Congress is an annual conference designed to bring together artists, media, and leaders from throughout the global industry to exchange ideas. As always, this year’s virtual edition aims to nurture and grow the jazz community and everyone who promotes, produces, presents, markets, and supports the music.

While this year’s Jazz Congress will be free, Jazz at Lincoln Center and JazzTimes ask registrants to consider a donation so that the conference can return to Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in 2022 stronger than ever. 

The Jazz Congress Advisory Board offers the programming team guidance and feedback on sessions, speakers, and honorees. Jazz Congress is grateful for the time and contributions of advisory board members Gene Dobbs Bradford, Terri Lyne Carrington, Stefon Harris, Tim Jackson, Karen Kennedy, Don Lucoff, Katie Simon, Denny Stilwell, Helen Sung and Rodney Whitaker.


Previous Jazz Congress conferences, co-produced by Jazz at Lincoln Center and JazzTimes, have drawn upwards of 1,100 attendees from all over the world and have featured speakers including Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Terri Lyne Carrington, Vijay Iyer, Christian McBride, Maria Schneider, George Wein, Nicholas Payton, Wynton Marsalis, Arturo O’Farrill, Gary Bartz, and Jennifer Leitham. An annual highlight is the keynote session and presentation of The Bruce Lundvall Visionary Award. Previous recipients include Randall Kline, Brice Rosenbloom, Christian McBride, Darlene Chan, Terri Lyne Carrington and Barry Harris.


For General Jazz Congress Inquires:


Press Inquiries: 

Zooey Tidal Jones 

Director, Public Relations and External Communications

Jazz at Lincoln Center