Handful Of Keys

The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis and special guests take you through 100 years of jazz piano on their new album, Handful of Keys. Star pianists Joey Alexander, Dick Hyman, Myra Melford, Helen Sung, Isaiah J. Thompson, and the JLCO’s own Dan Nimmer grab hold of all 88 keys and reveal the full extent of the piano’s evolution over the 20th century. This landmark live performance will be released on 9/15/17 by Blue Engine Records.

Recorded on opening night of the 2016-17 Jazz at Lincoln Center season, Handful of Keys showcases a band in full stride, burning through electric arrangements of beloved compositions from James P. Johnson, Bill Evans, McCoy Tyner, and more. With guests ranging in age from 13-year-old prodigy Alexander (recently featured on 60 Minutes) to 89-year-old American treasure Hyman, Wynton Marsalis and the JLCO survey jazz piano’s past and give the stage to several prodigies who are taking the instrument in bold new directions.


1. Jingles feat. Dick Hyman (3:46)

2. Lulu's Back in Town feat. Isaiah J. Thompson (12:04)

3. Four by Five feat. Helen Sung (8:41)

4. Very Early feat. Joey Alexander (8:06)

5. The Strawberry feat. Myra Melford (9:17)

6. Hymn to Freedom feat. Isaiah J. Thompson (5:50)

7. All of Me feat. Dick Hyman (7:23)

8. Temperance feat. Dan Nimmer (5:50)

Related Videos

Sign up for Blue Engine's newsletter

© 2015 Blue Engine Records